Way To Fail Me Yet Again, Entire World

Why did no one tell me there was an insane, whacked-out freaking awesome video for the Beastie Boys song “Shadrach”? More to the point, why did no one tell me there was a crazy, Cosby Show-colors animated freaking awesome video for the Beastie Boys song “Shadrach”?

I’ve been around 23 years and counting, and the video has been around for 21. And you’re telling me that in that time, no one, not one person on this earth could have said something? Dropped the ball big time, entire world.

Big time.

All kidding aside, I was talking to a friend recently about hip-hop and the video for the Beastie Boys song “Root Down,” another great video which shows a lot of the early New York hip-hop scene (graffiti, breakdancing, huge boom boxes, all that jazz), came up. So I decided I needed to see it again, looked it up on the ol’ YouTube and came across the official (I guess?) Beastie Boys video channel, which included “Shadrach,” which then proceeded to blow my mind. It was already my favorite song on Paul’s Boutique, sampled one of my favorite Sly & The Family Stone songs, and now I find out it also has this really cool video. Pretty sweet bonus.

Here’s a site with the lyrics and a list of samples and references (along with all the other songs on the album).

And for fun, here’s a site which makes the case that the song is a postmodern masterpiece.

Beastie Boys – Shadrach (Buy It)

Sly & The Family Stone – Loose Booty (Buy It)

posted by Adam

2 responses to “Way To Fail Me Yet Again, Entire World

  1. Thanks for this post. “Shadrach” is a cool Beasties song and “Loose Booty” is one of Sly’s most interesting and underrated gems. Have you heard the alternate version on the reissue of Small Talk? The Beastie Boys are just one of many hip hop groups that have sampled Sly’s songs. I wrrite about this and more in my book about Sly. Check it out at Amazon.com or http://lulu.com/content/1412956.

  2. hey! Your sites really interesting! Beastie boys are so funny.
    check out my blog at: http://myjunkisu.wordpress.com/
    peace
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

