Irrationally Exuberant about “Irrationally Exuberant”

Hey soul brothers and sisters, some news for you today. Contributor Matt, whose all-things-food blog Post Haste-Taste you’ve seen linked on the right since day one of hahamusic‘s existence, has decided to give up the ghost on that endeavor and focus on another topic: Enthusiasm in all its incarnations. His new blog Irrationally Exuberant (the name taken from an Alan Greenspan speech) will feature, in addition to Matt still talking about food and farms and whatnot, an array of guest writers (including Your’s Truly) writing on an array of different subjects, with the only criteria being EXCITEMENT. So visit it early, visit it often, and let Matt know what you think. That’s my plan.

Right now though, I’m pretty enthused about my Windows Media Player. I’ve got it on random, and it’s just played a flawless series of songs I used to be OBSESSED with at one time or another and haven’t heard in a long time. Don’t you love it when that happens? Here they are:

Stone Temple Pilots – Sour Girl (Buy It)

Remember this song? With the weird Teletubbies-gone-goth dancing with Sarah Michelle Gellar? Or something like that? “Sour Girl” actually made me thankful that alt-rock radio repeated songs so often. For a little while anyway.

Mos Def – Jam On It (Buy It)

My friend Andrew and I talked to each other exclusively by quoting lyrics from this song for about a month, managing to confuse strangers and annoy friends. “Well hey, youngblood, that was fresh,” indeed.

Charlie Parker – Parker’s Mood (Buy It)

The first time I heard this song, it was the vocalese version by King Pleasure, on a collection called The Beat Generation (which also included the Parker tune “Cosmic Rays”). Of course, my parents’ house being the way it is (full of jazz records), I found the real version and commenced listening to it a lot.

Blur – Coffee and TV (Buy It)

I bought the Blur album 13 used, kind of on a whim and ended up not really liking it much, except for this and a couple other songs, which I really liked. Except the end, which I always skip past.

Massive Attack – Live With Me (Buy It)

I’m pretty sure that the video for this song, which was on repeat around my apartment for long time, may be the most depressing thing put on film ever. That’s why I’m not posting the video, I’m posting the song, which is ridiculously good.

Nine Inch Nails – Into The Void (Buy It)

Ahhh, high school angst. What an excellent soundtrack you had.

Bob Marley & The Wailers – Africa Unite (Buy It)

At age 14, my tape of Survival was really what turned me into a Marley fan — hearing Legend at summer camp just got the gears in motion. I played that album so many times on my walkman, but especially this song. That flute line gives me goosebumps every time.

Anyway, I’m off to think of something other than music that makes me crazy happy and would make interesting reading.

posted by Adam

One response to “Irrationally Exuberant about “Irrationally Exuberant”

  1. Wow. Stone Temple Pilots AND Blur? I love the 90’s!

Leave a Reply

