Recommend THIS!

bloc.png

When I first heard Bloc Party I definitely didn’t give them a fair chance. They were recommended to me on my yahoo internet radio station. My problem with them was that they weren’t recommended to me because they matched my genre preferences but rather simply because, “Yahoo Recommends!” Since I don’t trust Yahoo due to the fact that they killed my family I was obviously skeptical.

Once I finally listened to Silent Alarm (Buy it)I was surprised by how much I enjoyed their sound. At times reminiscent of the The Cure, The Strokes, and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs they still manage to create a distinct sound that is sometimes pretty accessible and other times kinda out there…in a good way.

I challenge you to listen to “The Prayer” off their more recent, A Weekend In the City(Buy it) and not have it stuck in your head for a week.

Bloc Party – The Prayer (Buy it)

Bloc Party – Positive Tension (Buy it)

Bloc Party – Banquet (Buy it)

Bloc Party – I Still Remember (Buy it)

I mentioned that they at times sounded like the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. I am of the belief that if you enjoyed “Y Control” you’ll enjoy Bloc Party’s “Flux” off their new EP. Especially if you like dancin’!

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Y Control (Buy it)

Bloc Party – Flux (Buy it)

posted by lorddoctor

One response to “Recommend THIS!

  1. I love this picture.

Leave a Reply

