The 10 (?) Soundtracks I Own (2 of2)

What’s with the question mark? Do I in fact own MORE than ten soundtracks? Is the world crashing down around us? Well, relax. The world may be crashing down around us, and it turns out I DO own more than ten soundtracks (found an 11th!), but that’s nothing to worry about. Besides, two of the soundtracks on the second half of our list are for concert movies. And everyone knows that concert movies only count for half a real movie anyway.

Purple Rain

The Purple One bolstered his already immense ego by making a movie in which he easily blows away the musical competition and dismisses half-nude women in lakes with a flick of the ignition on his giant purple motorcycle. Oh, and plays super good music throughout. Here are a couple of fun facts about this album: Prince wrote the title track after being on tour with Bob Seger and seeing the crowd go crazy for his rock ballads; He also wanted to write a hit song that had no bass in it, and succeeded with “When Doves Cry.”

Prince and The Revolution – Let’s Go Crazy

Prince and The Revolution – When Doves Cry (Buy It)

Rushmore

The other Wes Anderson soundtrack I own (the first being Life Aquatic). I had a really hard time deciding which songs from this soundtrack to post, since they’re all fantastic (except maybe “Here Comes My Baby”). But this is the soundtrack that re-launched The Faces’ “Ooh La La” into the public consciousness, so I figured I’d lay off the more obvious choices, opting for the more eclectic.

Zoot Sims – Blinuet

Yves Montand – Rue St. Vincent (Buy It)

Muppets from Space

This is one that always shocks people when they see that I have it, and I always have to say, “No, it’s got a GREAT soundtrack.” Seriously, it’s got a great soundtrack. Whatever Henson Studios employee thought up the idea to have the music for the latest Muppets movie be ’70s era funk should get a huge raise. They’ve got a lot of the heavy hitters: James Brown, The O’Jays, The Isleys, The Commodores, Billy Preston, and George Clinton in a bizarre duet with the hispanic Muppet, Pepe the King Prawn.

George Clinton and Pepe – Flashlight

Billy Preston – Outa-Space (Buy It)

Superfly

If I ever made up a list of the best albums I own, this one would be pretty high up on the list. When people think of Blaxploitation soundtracks, Isaac Hayes’ (Oscar and Grammy winning) soundtrack to Shaft usually comes to mind. Forget Shaft. Isaac Hayes is a scrub compared to Curtis Mayfield, and this album is the proof. Filled with an emotional depth that the movie couldn’t convey without it, the soundtrack to Superfly is proof that soundtracks don’t have to just be a bunch of contemporary hit pop songs cobbled together.

Curtis Mayfield – Eddie You Should Know Better

Curtis Mayfield – Think (Buy It)

The Last Waltz

I saw The Last Waltz when it was re-released at the Senator Theatre in Baltimore, and it was that night that I realized that other people liked The Band too. It wasn’t just my family listening to tapes of their albums on family car trips. They had a movie, made by Martin Scorsese no less. They were actually a pretty big deal. And while not all the music was great (Neil Diamond? Really?), it was very cool to sit in a theatre full of people singing along to the entire movie.

The Band – Theme from The Last Waltz

The Band – Rag Mama Rag (Buy It)

Stop Making Sense

The only things I remember from my childhood viewing of Stop Making Sense was that David Byrne comes out in the beginning and plays “Psycho Killer” along to a boombox. And of course the giant white suit. I bought the soundtrack used years later and discovered that I was a fan of the Talking Heads. Tidbit for funk fans: Keyboard funk genius Bernie Worrell and the Brides of Funkenstein both perform on this album. As if Mr. Byrne and company weren’t already great on their own.

Talking Heads – Slippery People

Talking Heads – What a Day That Was (Buy It)

And that’s it for the eleven soundtracks I own. But rest assured, that if I buy any more, I’ll be sure to let you know.

posted by Adam

2 responses to “The 10 (?) Soundtracks I Own (2 of2)

  1. Thanks for stealing the post idea directly from my brain, ya jerk.

  2. Hey, sorry ’bout that Satch. I just couldn’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

