Cover Tuesday, Pt. 29

Hey gang, for today’s Cover Tuesday I’m posting some unexpected and bizarre covers. These covers are all recorded in a way or in a genre that seems a bit odd to me. Bowie sung in Portuguese, the Dead Kennedys done in bossanova, “Take Five” as reggae and John Lennon’s most optimistic song turned into a funeral dirge. I’ve also included the video for “Imagine” because of how bizarre it is: It’s a great video until you get to the creepy singing baby dolls. You’ll see. Enjoy:

Seu Jorge – Oh! You Pretty Things (David Bowie cover) (Buy It)

Nouvelle Vague – Too Drunk to Fuck (Dead Kennedys cover) (Buy It)

Val Bennett – The Russians Are Coming/Take Five (Dave Brubeck Quartet cover) (Buy It)

A Perfect Circle – Imagine (John Lennon cover) (Buy It)

posted by Adam

3 responses to “Cover Tuesday, Pt. 29

  1. its good to see Seu Jorge get some rexognition. I’ve been a huge fan ever since The Life Aquatic. I highly reccomend his Brazilian CD, Cru. His Bowie Covers are great, but his original stuff is greatier. i wish i could up some of it, but I got it all off of Itunes so its protected

  2. Satchmo, like you I was blown away by the stuff in Life Aquatic. I’ve heard that Jorge changed a bunch of the lyrics in the Bowie songs, so I’d be really interested to read some translated lyrics. I’ve also been meaning to get ‘Cru’ for a while, but I keep forgetting. Damn memory…

  3. ya they are different a bit. But that’s just because they wouldn’t make sense, physically or rhythmically in Portuguese. The concepts are pretty much the same in all the songs. I can pick up some Portuguese here and there, and i like the Seu tracks more than anything Bowie ever did (gasp!). anyywho. I got a guest spot over at Scholar’s soooocheck us out. And I wanna thank you for inspiring me to clean up the sight a bit and use box.net (SO FUCKING EASY). peace

Leave a Reply

