Sounds-a-Like Time!

Amy Winehouse – Tears Dry On Their Own (Buy It)

Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (Buy It) FIXED!

Winehouse and uber-producer Mark Ronson sure know how to do the Motown sound, no more than on “Tears Dry On Their Own,” where they co-opt the opening rhythm from the classic “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.” “Adam, what is this “Motown sound?” you may ask, to which I would reply, “Go learn your history, son.”

Ryan Adams – To Be Young (Is to Be Sad Is to Be High) (Buy It)

Bob Dylan – Subterranean Homesick Blues (Buy It)

Dylan’s shot across the bow of the ship of folk purism, and Adams’ declaration that he wasn’t all about that country music stuff anymore (at least until later on the album).

posted by Adam

3 responses to “Sounds-a-Like Time!

  1. Grretings. Are you the one they call Lord Haha? I got a comment over at my place which is quite puzzling so I just want to confirm it. Your pace looks pretty nice so I’ll browse a while and blogroll you next time I log in.

    Peace and blessings.

  2. Hahaha, that’s definitely not me. I don’t think I’d ever let anyone call me Lord Haha, let alone call myself that. We have a contributor here called lorddoctor, but I can safely say that’s not him either.

  3. Pingback: This Has Already Happened « hahamusic

Leave a Reply

