Cover Tuesday, Pt. 24

I don’t buy CDs much. It’s sad but true: Most of the time I’ll think about buying albums when they come out, even writing lists for myself for future CD store trips. But one way or another, those lists find their way to the trashcan or I’ll become uninterested in the albums listed or whatever. So when I went into a CD store on the lower east side while killing time waiting to have dinner with a friend, I didn’t expect to come out having purchased anything. But there it was, Sondre Lerche and the Faces Down Quartet’s The Duper Sessions (Buy It), for sale used for a very good price, and I thought why the hell not. I’d read mixed reviews of the albums but had heard a couple tracks, both of which impressed me a lot. Plus, I’m a fan of Lerche especially the album before Duper, the great Two Way Monologue (I’ll probably do another, longer post on him some other time in the near future). Unfortunately, it turned out the mediocre reviews were mostly right, as Lerche in jazz crooner mode didn’t exactly mesh on a lot of the tracks. But there were some gems buried in there, including the three covers below. If you enjoy these, keep your eyes on this page for more Lerche coming soon.

Sondre Lerche – Night and Day (Cole Porter cover)

Sondre Lerche – Nightingales (Prefab Sprout cover)

Sondre Lerche – Human Hands (Elvis Costello cover)

posted by Adam

One response to “Cover Tuesday, Pt. 24

  1. Oh man. I adore.

Leave a Reply

