Cover Tuesday, Pt. 20

Is it Tuesday again already? Seems like the weeks are just flying by, doesn’t it? This week’s Cover Tuesday features a couple really bizarre covers of The Doors’ “Light My Fire,” one by trip-hop giants Massive Attack and the other by the king of soul Mr. Al Green (pictured above). I’m not sure why artists are compelled to cover “Light My Fire” in bizarre ways. Maybe out of reverence for the original? Maybe out of contempt for the original? With these, it’s a little hard to tell…

Massive Attack – Light My Fire (Live) (Buy It)

Al Green – Light My Fire (Buy It)

Oh, and if you haven’t been checking out Souled On recently, it’s really time you did. Scholar has been hitting it hard with some amazing collections of samples used in hip-hop. Check it out.

posted by Adam

2 responses to “Cover Tuesday, Pt. 20

  1. Adam—Thank you for the shout.

    I also have to agree with your sentiments on “Light My Fire” covers. Even Minnie Riperton’s version is an absolute mess.

    Probably the best I’ve heard is Ebony Rhythm Band’s rendition, but that may be cheating a little because there aren’t any vocals.

  2. I’ll definitely have to look those up, thanks. You’ve definitely piqued my interest with the promise of good versions of the song…

Leave a Reply

