Cover Tuesday, Pt. 12

Hey gang, sorry for the week-long hiatus. I shouldn’t have left you … without a strong rhyme to step to (sorry, I couldn’t help myself). There’s a bigger post cooking in the oven, but in the meantime we’ve got some covers of the Hoagy Carmichael/Stuart Gorrell classic “Georgia on My Mind,” made immortal by the genius himself Ray Charles. It’s also the state song of Georgia, beating out “Maryland My Maryland,” “I Love New York” and of course the straight-up racist “Carry Me Back to Old Virginny” by a mile and a half. We’ve also got versions by funk-sters James Brown and Maceo Parker, along with the greatest guitarist in the history of the instrument Django Reinhardt (and yes, I’m aware I posted this for the “R” theme. Don’t gripe. It’s free music). Enjoy:

James Brown – Georgia On My Mind (Buy It)

Django Reinhardt – Georgia On My Mind (Buy Django music)

Maceo Parker – Georgia On My Mind (Buy It)

Ray Charles – Georgia On My Mind

Ray Charles – Georgia On My Mind (Live) (Buy Ray Charles music)

posted by Adam

One response to “Cover Tuesday, Pt. 12

  1. Poor VA. Nobody understands ye. Good thing I’m from Northern VA, which is a completely different state.

Leave a Reply

