Adam’s Saturday Adventure at 5 Pointz

dscn0264.JPG

The first time I saw the 5 Pointz buildings from the 7 train, I was shocked. The buildings, seemingly in the middle of nowhere — a tangle of industrial looking structures — are COVERED with the most incredible graffiti I’ve ever seen. It was a beautiful welcome to the neighborhood, a sight so unique to New York and a sight that made me feel a little better about moving to the city. Obviously (as you can tell from the picture above) there are some rules, but the buildings basically serve as a graffiti artist playground. I’d only seen anything like it once in Los Angeles (Redondo Beach? Long Beach? … I don’t remember), but nothing even close to the scale of 5 Pointz.

So on Saturday I was in the neighborhood (Long Island City) trying to find an event that turned out to be a bust, and actually had my camera on me for once (the last pictures on it are from the Halloween parade in Chelsea). So I walked over to 5 Pointz and proceeded wandering around and taking some pictures. Here are some of the better ones (click once and then click again for full-size), complete with musical accompaniment.

dscn0252.JPG

dscn0255.JPG

A Tribe Called Quest – Youthful Expression (Buy It)

dscn0260.JPG

Aretha Franklin – Come Back Baby (Buy Aretha music)

And yes, that’s a portrait of Rembrandt next to The Famous Baby.

dscn0262.JPG

Robert Johnson – Sweet Home Chicago (Buy It)

dscn0267.JPG

Spoon – I Turn My Camera On (Buy It)

dscn0268.JPG

Outkast – The Train (Buy It) That’s the 7 track above there.

dscn0271.JPG

Bob Marley & The Wailers – Concrete Jungle (Buy It)

dscn0274.JPG

Notorious B.I.G. – Juicy (Buy It)

dscn0273.JPG
Gnarls Barkley – Smiley Faces (Buy It)

dscn0270.JPG

Like that last one says, the official website is www.5ptz.com, but it doesn’t seem to be up at the moment… Oh well.

posted by Adam

9 responses to “Adam’s Saturday Adventure at 5 Pointz

  1. Oh shit! The famous baby! He’s so renowned! I bet that portrait of Rembrandt is real embarrassed and stuff. I also wanted to let you know that it is now Spoon-stuck-in-head-day 1. I predict more than a couple of these days.

  2. Cool! I had taken at least 50 pictures of that place but you even got some that I didn’t get.

  3. Yeah FraudWasteAbuse, I took tons more but these ones were the best (and corresponded the best with songs to post). I was glad to see that you got one of the “I (Heart) NY,” which was my favorite piece there and which I actually saw getting painting over from the train.

  4. Pingback: Music Look » Блогоскоп №26

  5. sick art i love it i work across the bridge but i pass by every now and then great now can these guys go and paint the whoel city like this thanks go and do it yo

  6. Nice pics mang. I am posting them on my blog as well (with a link to yours). I hope that’s cool with you. If not, hit me up.

    peace, keep the graffiti pics comin…

  7. Конечно, я с этим тоже сталкивался :)

  8. Удачи вам! Я думаю у вас все получится :)

  9. Без особого преувеличения можно точно сказать, что пост тему раскрыл на все 100 процентов. :)

Leave a Reply

