Cover Tuesday, Pt. 7

Hey hey and a happy Tuesday folks. The theme for this week’s cover extravaganza is songs by The Band. I had a chance to listen to the new tribute album Endless Highway recently, and wasn’t too blown away (except for the My Morning Jacket cut, which is included below). My bar might be set a little high though. Nearly every long car trip when I was a kid involved a tape of The Band’s first two albums (with some Grateful Dead on the flip-side), so I’m naturally  a little skeptical when people try their hand at their music. But the following tracks are some damn good ones (the last one’s kinda cheating, but I’m sure you won’t mind). Enjoy:

Elvis Costello – Stagefright (live) (Buy Elvis Costello music)

Johnny Cash – The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Buy It)

Travis – The Weight (Buy It)

My Morning Jacket – It Makes No Difference (Buy It)

The Staples w/The Band – The Weight (Buy It)

posted by Adam

One response to “Cover Tuesday, Pt. 7

  1. Those are great covers. I particularly liked My Morning Jacket’s Version of “It makes No difference”

Leave a Reply

