Disco Marching Band in the Desert = Good Times

With James Brown gone, my list of acts I’d like to see live has been shortened by one. But one band that’s been on the list for a while is The Flaming Lips. Every picture I’ve seen, every interview I’ve read, every bootleg I’ve heard has convinced me that the adult carnival ride The Lips create each night they perform is definitely for me.

While I wouldn’t call myself a ‘big’ fan of the band (since I actually haven’t heard any of their early albums), the second half of their discography is some of my favorite music of all time. Bizarre, sometimes profound, and always with a sense of insane fun, even when they’re trying to get a political message across (mostly on their newest album At War with The Mystics). But they’re really at their best when they embrace their silly side and just make overwhelmingly happy music.

So the following are The Flaming Lips songs most likely to make me smile:

The Flaming Lips – Be My Head from Transmissions from the Satellite Heart (Buy It)

The Flaming Lips – Kim’s Watermelon Gun from Clouds Taste Metallic (Buy It)

The Flaming Lips – The Spiderbite Song from The Soft Bulletin (Buy It)

The Flaming Lips – Do You Realize? from Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (Buy It)

The Flaming Lips – Spongebob and Patrick Confront The Psychic Wall of Energy from The SpongeBob Squarepants Movie: Music from the Movie and More… (Buy It)

The Flaming Lips – Pompeii Am Gotterdammerung from At War with The Mystics (Buy It)

And I just realized that the titles of the first three albums I chose songs from all have a double-L words in them. Weird.

posted by Adam

One response to “Disco Marching Band in the Desert = Good Times

  1. i’m in the same boat with you on the Lips – i like their newer stuff and have never heard their old stuff.

    thanks for posting these so i can listen to ’em at work!

Leave a Reply

