“They Say That DJs Make The Best Gifts”

Now tell me, where else are you going to see two turntables arguing over the phone over some borrowed records except the new video for the Cut Chemist song “Spat”? This is off of the album The Audience’s Listening (Buy It) which I highlighted in the End-of-the-Year post here, and since I first heard it, I’ve been racking my brain to place that saxophone sample. It just sounds so familiar… I’ve been going through all the Charlie Parker that I have (since he’s briefly shown in the video — thought it might be a clue), and while listening to Charlie Parker is always a pleasure, trying to figure this out is driving me a little crazy. Anyway, it’s a fan-freaking-tastic video, just like the other one, “What’s the Altitude (feat. Hymnal)”

And both somehow make the art of DJing look even more
fun than it already looked.

Cut Chemist – Spat

Cut Chemist – What’s the Altitude (feat. Hymnal)

BONUS: Ozomatli – Cut Chemist Suite (Buy It)

posted by Adam

Leave a Reply

