James Brown (1933-2006), RIP

James Brown, the Godfather of Soul, the Inventor of Funk, the Progenitor of Hip-Hop, died today at the age of 73. I’ll be doing a proper tribute post when I get back to New York tomorrow, but I’ll just say now that world of music would be a much less funky place without him and that a good chunk of the music posted on this site would not exist without his contributions.

posted by Adam

One response to “James Brown (1933-2006), RIP

  1. I am so bummed.

    At least he’ll live forever on my 21st birthday mix… and in my ever beloved Blues Brothers movie…

Leave a Reply

