I Must Become the Lion-Hearted Girl

Not that new, but new to me!

Florence and the Machine – Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up) (Copyright’d!)

Florence and the Machine – Howl

From Lungs (buy)

Also very not new, but man, the Blow is really speaking to me lately:

The Blow – The Long List of Girls

The Blow – Fists Up

The Blow – True Affection

From Paper Television (buy)

And, in lieu of a year end mix which Adam will do far better than I possibly could, a mega monster mix of a particular “here comes winter damnit” attitude, accompanied by a refrigerator magnetic poetry style poem comprised of lyrics from these jams:

Maritime – Someone Has To Die (buy)

Pavement – We Dance (buy)

The Bird and the Bee – F*cking Boyfriend (buy)

Blondie – Sunday Girl (buy)

Camera Obscura – French Navy (buy)

Grizzly Bear – All We Ask (buy)

Fruit Bats – My Unusual Friend (buy)

Connie Francis – Somebody’s Fool (buy)

Karen Dalton – In The Evening (It’s So Hard To Tell Who’s Going To Love You the Best) (buy)

Loudon Wainwright III – The Swimming Song (buy)

Neutral Milk Hotel – Where You’ll Find Me Now (buy)

The Dodo’s – The Strums (buy)

Of Montreal – Eros’ Entropic Tundra (buy)

Regina Spektor – Loveology (live) (support!)

Burning Spear – I and I Survive (buy)

Nina Simone – I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl (buy)

The leaves came down when you walked by them all year round
It’s like a chandelier, it’s like a fountainhead
Oh, an incurable humanist you are
You can’t enjoy yourself, I can’t enjoy myself
He was laying somewhere else
Are you working up to something? But you give me almost nothing.
I say awake all week and still I wait
I can’t get out of what I’m into with you

You’ve been acting different, I’ve been told
I was criticized for letting you break my heart
Wishing the ones that we adore loved us more
There’s a flood on my lungs in the breeze
Salt my wounds, chlorine my eyes,
Everyone barks and they are all still believing
To tear out your heart would send all your secrets to me
Though I’m a fool at least I know the score

posted by Charlotte.

Leave a comment